The 2016 Australian Surf Festival called it a day today, wrapping up with eight new Australian Bodyboard champions being crowned on the last day of the Australian Bodyboard Titles.

Continuing his outstanding form in the 2016 Australian Bodyboard Titles was West Australian native Jake Metcalfe (City Beach, WA) who posted an impressive 15.35 heat total to claim the Open Mens final. Metcalfe continued to turn heads in the tricky conditions, executing a variety of spins and rolls to get the nod over his fellow WA statesman Lee Wilson (Margaret River, WA) who claimed second place with a notable 14.75 heat total.

Britt Ladley (Mermaid Waters, Qld) made light work of the tricky conditions, unleashing a multitude of decent turns to take dual victories across the Open Womens division. The Gold Coast native posted a respectable 13.60 heat total to keep her opposition at arms length and claim herself the Australian Title.

Former professional bodyboarder Adam Keegan (Marcoola, Qld) collected one of the very few excellent scores of the entire event to claim the Senior Mens (Over-35) final. Keegan nabbed an impressive barrel ride and a combination of manoeuvres to claim a convincing win from local bodyboarder Heath Werner (Toormina, NSW) who was unable to find the required 8.76 wave score to claim victory.

While Liam Lucas (Clovelly, NSW) was unable to claim the win in the Open Mens division, he was able to put on a stellar performance in the Junior Mens (Under-18) to ensure an Australian Title returned to Sydney. Lucas posted a respectable 13.25 heat total to claim the victory ahead of fellow Eastern Sydney bodyboarder Liam Flanagan (Matraville, NSW) who finished in the runner-up spot.

Rory Nelson (Cape Burney, WA) added another title to the WA kittie, taking out the Open Drop Knee division. Nelson took a convincing victory in the division with a heat total of 12.60.

Australian Surf Festival – Coffs Harbour, NSW – July 29 – 15 August, 2016
– Opening Ceremony – July 29
– Australian Surfmasters Titles – July 30 – August 3
– NRMA Holiday Parks Australian Longboard Titles – August 3 – 11
– Australian Logger Titles – August 8 – 11
– Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 11 – 15

The 2016 Australian Surf Festival was proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Coffs Harbour City Council, Coffs Coast Tourism, NRMA Darlington Beach Holiday Park, The Hoey Moey, Nikon, Toyota, Pacific Longboarder, NBN, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.

The Hoey Moey served as the social hub for the 2016 Australian Surf Festival and hosted a large range of presentations and opening ceremonies.